Assessor's Office
Assessing Information, Personal & Business Assessment Quick Links, Downloadable Forms, Online Services, Important Contacts and more...

  Personal Assessment           Business Assessment  

Assessing Personal & Commercial Property

Personal property assessments may be done in person at any of our five offices, by phone  479-271-1033 as long as there are no changes and  online as long as there are no changes.

Assessing Commercial Property: Commercial assessment forms are sent by mail to known businesses within the county. If you are a new business or an existing business and have not received an assessment form by the end of January, please contact the business office at  479-271-1087

Late Assessment Penalty Information

All businesses and residents (exempt and non-exempt) are required to report their personal property assessment each year  before May 31. After May 31, a 10% penalty will be applied to late assessments, regardless of exempt status.

By statute, a 10% penalty is to be applied to all property (personal and commercial) not assessed by May 31st. ACA 26-26-1406.

Penalty is based on 10% of the assessed value (on all assets not assessed). The purchase price (or state value, whichever is used) less depreciation, multiplied by 20% gives the value. That value multiplied by 10% gives you the penalty. EXAMPLE: Purchase price = $5,000 less depreciation (1,100 depends on asset) = $3900 x 20% (assessed value) = $780. $780 x 10% = $78 penalty. This is not dollars. It is 10% of the assessed value. To relay this into dollars take the $78 multiplied by the school district millage rate where the item is kept (example is .0527). $78 x .0527 = $4.11.

Forms, Reports & On-line Services


For individuals:    Assessment Online

For businesses:  Commercial Personal Property Assessment Form
 Commercial Information and Statutes
 Commercial Property Schedule

Depreciation Schedule:    Commercial Personal Property

Find out current used car assessment values:

Residents filling out the forms above have two choices; they can either save a blank version of the form and print copies for submission or they can fill-in forms on-line and send completed documents and any additional documentation to:
 bccomfiling@bentoncountyar.gov

Arkansas Laws and Assessment Guidlines

Arkansas law requires that all property owners assess their personal and commercial property between January 1st and May 31st each year.
Statutes place the assessment level at 20 percent (20%) of current market value.
For additional assessment information relevant to the state of Arkansas, visit the  Commissioner of State Lands and the  Assessment Coordination Department.

Assessment Rolls and Tax Dollar Breakdown

Assessment rolls provide funding for the various taxing jurisdictions.
In addition to the County, there are nine (9) school districts, twenty (20) cities and the Northwest Arkansas Community College.

Buying, Selling & Trading Information

As residents buy, sell and trade vehicles and residents move into, out of, or within the county, they need to notify the Assessor's Office of these changes as they occur.  Visit the  Change Address page to utilize the online notification form.

Concerns About Tax Bill

If you have concerns or questions about regarding your current property assessment there is an  Appeals Process where you can discuss your property assessment and appraisal with an appraiser.
Questions regarding your tax bill?
The Assessor does not levy taxes.
Instead, please check the:
 Collector's Office Homepage
Questions regarding Personal Property?
Contact the Assessor's Office:

 (479) 271-1033